chenb•log

I don’t mind if I’m incomprehensible

Post-op Photos

with 3 comments

I peeked at my files while I was waiting during a post-op appointment; the surgeon’s plan was to move my upper jaw forward roughly 3mm and down 2mm (apparently my upper teeth had a bit of an angle) and my lower jaw back roughly 3mm.
 

one day post-op
One day post-op.

A few people asked me about being in pain. There wasn’t much pain. The post-op experience is more pain in the ass than painful.

Imagine all the things you can do with your facial muscles. Well, now you can’t. You basically have no control of anything on your face below your eyes. (It would be totally fucked up if you lost control of your eyelids no?) Can’t smile. (It hurts to watch The Daily Show and Colbert Report.) Can’t spit. (You’ll miss this very much when you cough up stuff behind your banded teeth and after rinsing your mouth with stuff.) Can’t suck. (Some people brought up drinking through a straw when they learn of my surgery. I wish; milkshakes would’ve been very nice.) And so on. Oh, your face is also the size of Jupiter. And for about a week you’re constantly drooling, which is extremely inconvenient. And for a day you can’t breathe through your nose at all.

So there you are, standing over the sink, drooling out of the front of your mouth, sucking air through the back of it, and then you’d try to drink your meds and food without losing a quarter of it to the sink.

There’s more, but of course everything improved gradually. Very gradually. (Parentheses!)


Four days post-op.

Note the yellow bruising on my face and neck.  It didn’t stop there…


Six days post-op MySpace foto 5tyle.

It got even wider and moved slightly lower after that picture was taken. I still have a couple of spots on my chest after almost four weeks.



One week post-op.



12 days post-op.



Two weeks post-op.

Finally told my sister that we want to see the changes on my face, not the wall or my torso. In other words: zoom in plz.

When Joe and Sam got their kittens, I put up a picture of them with me. Now that they’ve got a child…


Barry: 20 days post-op. Penelope: 0 day post-birth.

Lil’ Penny: Uncle Barry, what the hell was wrong with your face?
Barry: Where the hell did you learn to talk like that? I know your parents don’t speak like that.

At any rate, when I score the x-rays, I’ll put them up.

Written by Barry

November 24, 2008 at 10:54 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. whoa barry, holy mother of Gillies!
    That’s one intense surgery, no wonder your face swelled up so much.
    You are unrecognizable, or could it be because I have not seen you in 6 or so years?

    Tiffany

    November 26, 2008 at 12:43 am

  2. I was looking at Joe’s flickr and saw the pic of you holding Penny. I thought something was different about you, but wasn’t sure. New haircut? New contacts? New sexy aura? Congrats on the surgery, lookin’ SHARP! :)

    nolen

    December 9, 2008 at 7:25 pm

  3. Barry. I happened upon your facebook and found my way here tonight. That is one crazy surgery you went through! The post-op pics are horrifying, but I seriously laughed out loud through your entire blog entry because you are so freaking funny. I hope you are happy with the results and that the pain in the ass ness was worth every moment and penny! You should post before and after photos to see if there is unrecognizable-ness.

    Uyen

    February 1, 2009 at 11:43 pm


Leave a Reply

