chenb•log

I don’t mind if I’m incomprehensible

Turbo Time!

with 2 comments

I had a dental appointment this morning.  As I was sitting in the dental chair, waiting, and looking at my surroundings, I noticed a “ultrasonic scaler”.  And on it, a turbo button.

A freakin’ TURBO BUTTON!

Maybe I’m weird, but I expect dental and medical equipments to be little more, oh I don’t know, scientific.  Numbers and units.  Preferably in metric.

“Ok nurse, we gonna need more power!  Prepare for Turbo Mode.”

If I have the opportunity, I’d totally make medical equipments with dials that go to 11.  With Overdrive buttons.  For them blinking lights.

Written by Barry

January 2, 2008 at 8:20 pm

Posted in General

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. An ultrasonic scalar is an instrument that vibrates and shoots water to remove calculus and tartar buildup. The turbo button is often on the Cavitron brand of ultrasonic scalars and it is used for heavy calculus, and the patient has to be anesthetized for it. Patients who get that have HEAVY calculus, or a “calculus bridge.” Sometimes so much is removed that they think they lost a tooth!

    This handy info is courtesy of Uyen. Isn’t dentistry disgusting?

    sullivat

    January 2, 2008 at 9:37 pm

  2. Calculus is hard, let’s go shopping!

    Barry

    January 2, 2008 at 9:40 pm


Leave a Reply

