chenb•log

I don’t mind if I’m incomprehensible

Read a Book!

with 2 comments

Wow, that was a quick month. And it just makes that horrible feeling of “I should be more productive with my life. Get some stuff done… or at least finishing filing them damn taxes!” even worse.

Let’s drown out that inner voice with some music y’all!

Arcade Fire – Poupee de Cire, Poupee de Son

Also check out the original performed by France Gall and the cover by Belle & Sebastian, when Isobel Campbell was still with the band.

Bomani "D’mite" Armah – Read a Book

"Read a book! Read a book! Read a motherfucking book!" The music itself isn’t that impressive; the piano sampling is all right. But I love the positive messages! You know, read books, drink water, brush teeth, etc. All shouted at you. Seriously kids, read books! (Or you’ll grow up to be like me.)

Bright Eyes – Four Winds

The Long Blondes – Once and Never Again

Sophie Ellis-Bextor – Me And My Imagination

Second single from the forthcoming album. The official video is not out yet.

Tom Petty – Saving Grace

Highway Companion is a pretty decent album.

Can you believe that YouTube doesn’t have "Fill Me Up" by Snax & Ianeq, Odawas’s "Alleluia", Feist’s "My Moon, My Man", "Making Love In The Sunshine" by Maxi Geil & Playcolt, …? I can.

Written by Barry

March 1, 2007 at 12:12 am

Posted in Music

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Read A Book is supposed to be bad. Its an all-encompassing mockery of Lil Jon. Instead of giving any real advice, it simplistically calls for black people to not do stereotypical black things. Its full of profanity and shouting. Its exactly how Lil Jon would fail if he tried to make a song with a positive social message.

    Les

    March 1, 2007 at 8:42 am

  2. Ah, I see. No wonder I was reminded of Lil Jon. And by Lil Jon, I mean Chappelle’s Lil Jon character.

    Barry

    March 1, 2007 at 5:54 pm


Leave a Reply

