chenb•log

I don’t mind if I’m incomprehensible

I YouTube You!

with one comment

Instead of talking about some of the songs I’ve enjoyed over the last two months in my usual incoherent fashion, I’m enlisting the help of YouTube. I’m going multimedia, bitches!

Alesha – Knock Down

I can do without that shit at the end from the remix TNX!

Margaret Berger – Will You Remember Me Tomorrow

Give the young lady some dance lessons please.

The Black Angels – The First Vietnamese War

Neko Case – Hold On, Hold On

Cat Power – Lived In Bars

Cat Power/Chan Marshall’s good looks is distracting in a video.

The Concretes – Chosen One

The Decemberists – Bandit Queen

WTF!? LOL! Hooray for fan made videos?

Delays – Valentine

This sounded very familiar when I first heard it. Was it in a commercial or movie or somethin’?

Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton – Doctor Blind

The Futureheads – Skip to the End

Hello Saferide – The Quiz

Lady Sovereign – Love Me Or Hate Me Remix (ft. Missy Elliot)

Hooray for fan edited video?

Jenny Lewis with The Watson Twins – The Charging Sky

The Knife – We Share Our Mother’s Health

Lo-Fi-Fnk – City

A poorly recorded live performance of a fun song.

Love As Laughter – Dirty Lives

Nellie McKay – Real Life

I like Nellie McKay’s pretty little head. And her second album is pretty good, too. This song is not exactly my favorite from the album, but my video choices are limited.

Miranda! – Don

Regina Spektor – Fidelity

Royksopp – Remind Me (Someone Else’s Radio Mix)

This is a substitute for their “Go Away”, which isn’t a single and therefore not on YouTube. It’s a cool, award-winning video if you haven’t seen it. (The umlaut is missing from their name because WordPress didn’t seem to like it. Nothing is ever simple with webpages.)

Spektrum – Don’t Be Shy

The Thermals – A Pillar Of Salt

M. Ward – Chinese Translation

Wild Beasts – Brave Bulging Buoyant Clairvoyants

One of my very favorites of the 2006. I love it.

Amy Winehouse – Rehab

Even though YouTube has a lot of stuff, it doesn’t have everything. Like Fat Joe’s "Damn", which was gonna be for all my homies. I couldn’t find "Greedy Bitches" by Ghostface Killah with Redman & Shawn Wigs, either. "Isn’t that misogynistic?" Well, are you a greedy bitch?

While I might be the only person who didn’t like Nelly Furtado’s two latest singles, I immediately liked "Do It" when it played on my random streaming playlist at work.

If you like The Beatles, then check out Love. It’s a "remix" album, but with recorded Beatles material only.

Written by Barry

December 30, 2006 at 9:46 pm

Posted in Music

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thank you, barry. i watched the obviously animated ones. (real people are too boring.) i hadn’t seen the “remind me” video and it reminded me to go back to work tomorrow morning. i will get up, think of this video, and it will all be okay. maybe a milkshake for lunch?

    “bandit queen” piano – love it.

    pedestriansaga

    January 7, 2007 at 7:30 pm


Leave a Reply

