chenb•log

I don’t mind if I’m incomprehensible

Too Late to Register, Too Late to The Finish, But Not Too Late to Try

leave a comment »

I admit that it hurt a little when an old man passed me on a 5K run. “Old” in this case means he is old not only relative to my age, but to the current life expectancy as well. At the same time, it also makes me hopeful. If he can do it at that age, surely I will be able to.

Hopson and I arrived a little late to register for the race. I don’t know why they would need 45 minutes between the end of registration and the start of the race. But I do know that the money goes to charity and now the children are down $26. That’s unfortunate. And dumb. Very dumb.

Even though I couldn’t keep up with my friends, or the old man, I finished it under 30 minutes. That’s a reasonable time, considering I’ve been seriously slacking in the aerobics department.

Regardless of performance, it was good to see people of all ages out there running, especially with the constant headlines about people getting bigger and sicker.

Maybe next time I’ll manage outrun all the old men. Maybe. But at least I’ll show up and try.

Written by Barry

October 22, 2006 at 11:57 pm

Posted in General

Leave a Reply

