chenb•log

I don’t mind if I’m incomprehensible

Guitars and Turntables

leave a comment »

Time for another installment of my self-imposed bi-monthly “what’s new to the collection” song list.

Amy Diamond – Don’t Cry Your Heart Out
Amy Diamond’s second album is out already. The production is pretty much the same as the first, and there are a few decent songs, but nothing quite as infectious as “Welcome To The City”.

Band of Horses – The Funeral
I had pretty high expectations for this band, perhaps too high. This is my favorite of the album; the other songs aren’t quite as good.

Camera Obscura – Lloyd, I’m Ready To Be Heartbroken
Great single from their new album. I look forward to seeing them in Portland.

Danielson – Did I Step On Your Trumpet?
According to Amazon.com, Ships is Danielson’s most accessible album yet. If that’s the case, then his earlier work must be pretty nuts. Half of Ships is a bit crazy for me. This song is pretty catchy though.

Duoteque – Daki Theta
Rubbery and bouncy bass, quirky synths, and a guy screaming out “Bass!” It’s quite fun.

Iron & Wine and Calexico – He Lays In Reins
The best song from their collaboration.

Lily Allen – LDN
Someone left an issue of The New Yorker at the launderette, so I looked thru it. And surprisingly, somewhere near the back I saw a review of Lily Allen’s album. Ok, so she’s hyped. And why not? “LDN” is a fantastic summer single, and the new one, “Smile“, is pretty good too.

The Little Ones – Lovers Who Uncover
Fun song. You can’t go wrong with handclaps.

The Noisettes – Monte Christo
The acoustic, mellow one from the Three Moods of the Noisettes EP.

Phoenix – One Time Too Many
The first Phoenix song I listened to was “If I Ever Feel Better“, and it’s one of the best singles ever. The problem with that is none of their other songs come even close to it. This is a decent song from their new album, but I’m just listing it so I can mentioned “If I Ever Feel Better” again.

SCSI-9 – You Are My Monster
Most of SCSI-9’s microhouse is a bit too micro for me. On this track they pick up the pace a bit and the beats seem bigger, and I quite like it. The sweet and drippy “Senorita Tristeza” is still my favorite though.

V/VM – dusty bin
Charming, and yes, even cute. Thanks to Leslie for finding it, because I sure haven’t been paying attention to V/VM daily mp3 giveaway.

Voxtrot – Raised By Wolves

Very promising band with two EPs out.

Written by Barry

June 30, 2006 at 2:59 pm

Posted in Music

Leave a Reply

